Martin Yates Memorial Competition

Martin Yates Memorial Compeitition
Moor Park Golf Club

scroll down for more

Swipe left or right to view images.

Martin Yates played in the university match for Oxford v Cambridge in 1965. Subsequently he had many winning matches in the President's Putter, reaching the semi finals on numerous occasions.

Following some years as the secretary at the Roehampton Club, he had an 8 year stint as Secretary of the Oxford and Cambridge Golfing Society. A member of Highgate and the Royal and Ancient Golf Club, he became a member of the Rules Committee and, later, the Golf Development Committee. In November 2012 he was elected Chairman of the UKSGA.

A genial companion,who is sadly missed.

This competition is held annually as a match between The Captain's Team and The Secretary's Team.

Tuesday 23rd July

Moor Park Golf Club
Moor Park,

Past Winners

Year Winner Venue
2015 Secretary's Team Highgate Golf Club
2016 Captain's Team Reigate Heath Golf Club
2017 Secretary's Team West Surrey Golf Club
2018 Secretary's Team Stoneham Golf Club
2019 Captain's Team Cuddington Golf Club
2020 Not Played Covid
2021 Not Played Covid
2022 Captain's Team The Roehampton Club
2023 Secretary's Teams Coombe Hill